“Inflexion or inflection comes from the Latin root inflexionem meaning to bend in, to change direction. This music is indeed very personal and intimate and one could say it bends in. It is rooted in friendship, mutual respect, and the numerous points of connection we’ve shared over decades. I met Steve Schaeffer shortly after moving to Los Angeles in 1977 through our mutual friend, guitarist, Robben Ford. I met Michael Valerio years later when we began collaborating and recording with vocalist, Lorraine Feather. We all met Aaron [Walk] ten years ago after Steve built a home recording studio and was searching for an audio engineer and some musicians to kick the tires. I didn’t have a home studio but I did have a few tunes that needed their tires kicked. As we worked on the music it became clear that Steve, Michael, and Aaron were perfect collaborators. Their generosity, sensitivity, commitment, and talent is what made this recording possible. It has been an exhilarating, sometimes humbling, but always rewarding experience to shape this music together. Thank you for bending in with us.” – Russell Ferrante

The Russell Ferrante Trio:

Russell Ferrante (piano)
Michael Valerio (bass)
Steve Schaeffer (drums)

The tracks:

1. Stick-to-it-iveness
2. Network of Mutuality
3. Inflexion D
4. Rhythm-a-ning
5. Isfahan
6. Inflexion A
7. Spoons
8. I Do
9. 57 Chevy
10. How Deep is the Ocean
11. We Shall Overcome

Recorded, Mixed, Co-Producer: Aaron Walk at Agave Studios
Mastered: Rich Breen at Dogmatic Sound
Cover Art, and Graphic Design: Tim Biskup

Blue Canoe Records BC1456
Release Date: January 8, 2021

Inflexion is available exclusively as a signed CD here at Russ’s official site. Please visit our Store for more information, and links to Inflexion on popular services for streaming and downloading.


The latest news from Russell